so behind – trip to Bendigo

29 07 2009

I meant to make this post before I went to the Melbourne Craft Show, but ran out of time. However I am determined to load it up so there may be a couple of posts over the next few days that are retrospective.

Last weekend Glenn and I went to the Bendigo Wool Show.  It is at events like this that I remember that I am from the bush, not the country.  In some parts of Australia, there is a big difference.  It was a 15 hour round trip and we spent 3 hours there, but it was worth every second.  I finally sourced a couple of products that I have been trying to lock down for a long time.  I was excited.  And then I came across something that really blew my mind with possibilities.  I just need to put a couple of things in place before I purchase “the machine” then watch out for some truely spectacular new products.

I asked the boys, particularly the “little one”, if they would come to the show with us to see the sheep.  They thought I had gone quite mad and declined to accompany me despite the valuable family time we could have had.  The “little one” – Andrew – is my nearly 6 foot 15 year old who believes he is past patting sheep so I took some photos to show him what he is missing.  The first photo shows a ute cover that I could not walk past.  What fabulous marketing.  It was not until I looked at the photo that I even knew what was being advertised.

Cool Ute Cover

Cool Ute Cover

Just for Andrew, here are the sheep and alpacas.

"Coloured Sheep"

"Coloured Sheep"

Judging the Sheep

Judging the Sheep

The cutest alpacas - I think

The cutest alpacas - I think

Corriedales - I think!

Corriedales - I think!

While we were there, we met up with Mandie Chandler from Ewe Give Me the Knits.  Mandie does some of the most amazing hand dyed fibres.  Check out her website if you have some time.  Mandie and I have been communicating via email for some time, but finally put faces to names. 
Mandie busy selling stuff

Mandie busy selling stuff

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 07 2009
Mandie

It was great to catch up with Glenn and yourself and finally put faces to names 🙂
Thanks for stopping by and visiting with me, look forward to chatting again very soon 🙂

30 07 2009
uniquestitching

yes it was good to meet, finally. I thought the fibres looked good in the photo. I hope you were happy with it.

Leave a Reply

