Finished items from Friday and Saturday

2 08 2009

We have had a relatively relaxed day. Very rare for the weekends. Both boys had activities but no sport.  Andrew went to a friends house to make jam – go figure – and Stephen had a choral presentation.  Interesting given that he has been sick all week and his voice is at best rusty.  I dyed some velvets, Glenn and I packed some dyes for the Canberra show and did the fruit and veg shopping at Belconnen markets.  I also made a huge pot of pumpkin soup for lunches this week. We currently have a roast pork crackling in the oven.  Sounds like a lot , but it really was a slow Sunday by my standards.  I also focused on getting projects I have started dry and finished.  I can now report in on some of the items from the past few days.

My wool wrap  – the Shiva  dried beautifully and it is now pressed and ready to wear.  I may wear it tomorrow or the next day.   Here it is.  The second photo shows a bit more of the detail. 

Some more detail

Some more detail

Finished ready to wear

Finished ready to wear

 

 

 

 

 

The second finished item is the felted scarf.  I used two pre felts – a black one as the base and a red one for the triangle detail.  I also used a bag of my hand dyed wool top in the Cherry colourway.  Again, photos showing the finished item and some detail.

my felted scarf

my felted scarf

Detail of the felting

Detail of the felting

 

 

 

 

 

My silk paper from the silk batt is dry, but I have not done anything with it yet.  I am currently drawing out some ideas.  I am not great at the planning stage, but I want to use the silk paper on a piece of fabric I  hand painted with Procion dyes and I want it to work so am drafting out a design.  Silk and hand painted fabric are shown in this photo. 

Silk paper and hand painted cottons - a WIP

Silk paper and hand painted cottons - a WIP

Finally, tonight I am finishing the machine stitching of the 12 blocks of velvet applique I started.  I have 8 done and 4 more to go.  I would like to get the blocks into a top tonight, but that might be too much.  Here is a sneak peak at one of the blocks waiting to be stitched (and the wonkey bit adjusted!).

block 1 of 12

block 1 of 12

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

