Not the weather for dyeing ……..

30 05 2010

but really, I don’t have a choice. We have had wet, bleak and suddenly very cold weather.  Not surprising given that next week is winter, but still a bit of a rude shock.  Especially after spending the first half of this week in Darwin.

Here is a look out my back door.  Bleak! Pretty awful today.

However, we have dyed over 50 metres of wool today, so where did I put it?  Thank goodness for my drying shed and enclosed balcony.

The last month or three have been interesting in that I have been dealing with what I consider to be a series of scams.  We have all worked out the Nigerian Princesses and various scenarios; many of us have seen exorbitant orders to be sent to remote parts of the world and the constant tirade to click here to fix your bank details but I have been dealing with a scam that is far more insidious.  I have been dealing with an individual that creates identities, to extract information from me, thereby stealing my intellectual property.  For some time now, I have been waltzing with this individual who thinks that I am too stupid to know what is going on, when in fact I have been gathering the history strategies and evidence.  To fraudulently misrepresent one self can be a crime in certain circumstances.  To do so to gain an advantage or commit an act such as the theft of IP is certainly a crime.  I am also exploring whether doing so over a telecommunications media falls into a third category of crime.  The telecommunications ombudsman has been very helpful to date.   I have already sought advice from several sources as to whether I have a case to go forward.   Given who this individual is, someone within the textile/patchwork industry, I am yet to decide where to go.  I feel in some ways if I proceed, I sink to their pathetic, tragic level and lets face it someone in the relationship needs to be the grown up.  I am not sure which way I will go, but I guarantee if there is a further attempt to fraudulently extract information from me I will enforce the full weight of the law.

The real irony of this situation is that I will share information with anyone.  I freely give information, instructions and advice to anyone who asks.  I have a number of people in the industry that I compete with in at least some of my business that I consider friends and I often toss ideas around and share information over dinner or drinks.  There is nothing better, in my mind, than the active imagination of strong, capable women (sorry guys you do add to our day, but we are a female dominated industry).

For me this issue is one of honesty and integrity.  I am a long way from perfect, but I can hold my head up and say that I have dealt honestly with everyone I come in contact with.  Shame that doesn’t extend to all.

Actions

Information

One response

24 07 2010
smee2

I’m sure you know that most of your friends & customers are with you all the way. This person with whom you are having problems obviously has little talent of their own and can only survive by pinching ideas from others – pathetic really. Anyway, keep up the good work. Looking forward to finishing my current project. Regards, Irene

Leave a Reply

