Playing with surface design

24 07 2010

I have a number of pieces I am working on between everything else.  this is one.  So far, I have dyed the fabric (bronze, rust and very light chocolate); brushed on discharge paste to bleach it out a bit; and applied three different colours of shiva stiks with three different rubbing plates.  I quite like it.  Tomorrow, if time allows, I will do some photo / image transfer.  Maybe.  Interested in what you think so far.

The whole piece - it needs an iron

Some detail
More detail
and more detail

 

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 07 2010
Monica

Cecile, I love the subtle colours and complexity of the piece. This is the sort of thing I’d love to do but don’t know where to begin. It’s beautiful.

25 07 2010
uniquestitching

Thanks Monica
I have been procrastinating about what to do next, but I think I know where I want to take it. If I get the chance I will do more today. Keep checking in from time to time and I might be able to help you get started.
Cecile

25 07 2010
Robin McWhinney

I love it already, I will definitely keep checking to see how you improve it even more. Cheers, Robin

25 07 2010
uniquestitching

thanks Robin. I have chosen and rejected several options today, but I think I have decided on the next couple of steps. I am still hopeful to get some done tonight.

26 07 2010
Marie Holly

Beautiful – love the colours

26 07 2010
Georgina Greenwood

Love the way the colours work together, really inspirational. Intrigued as to where you are going to next with this piece. Waiting expectantly….
Regards, Georgina.

27 07 2010
uniquestitching

Thanks Georgina,
lovely to hear from you.
Cecile

Leave a Reply

