October/November 2010 QA arrived today

27 09 2010

It was a surprise as it is a public holiday here today, but it is here none the less.  I have added it to the website – www.uniquestitching.com.au under current magazines.  There is a link from the home page.

I thought there were some really interesting articles in this one, again.  I really liked the articles on creating digital images, transfering dye colour from silk ties into one off fabrics and especially loved using metal in your projects.  There is more of course, but those are my favourites.  There is an article on using oatmeal as a resist which I have gone out and tried already.  My oats are the ones with fruit and other stuff in them, so it will be interesting to see how that turns out.  Andrew, my 16 year old, decided I really had lost it this time, with the oats and the dye all over my work table.  Perhaps he is right.  He will be working with me at Craft Expo in Melbourne in about ten days.  It would be nice if he was reassured that I am not the craziest person on the planet.

Anyway here is the cover of the new magazine:

The magazine is on sale from 5 October, but the subscriptions are packed ready to go out in tomorrows mail and you can order now on line.

On an unrelated matter, I have had a shocking couple of weeks with technology.  One of my blog sites has been corrupted and it has taken me for ever to get someone to work out how to fix it.  Email is haphazard.  Some particularly bizarre things have gone into spam and I am getting clusters of mail arrive four and five days after it has been sent.  And this week, I have had a couple of occassions when I have pressed send and the whole email has disappeared without trace.  Truely strange.  There is nothing like technology to make you feel old and inept.  If you have emailed and not received a reply from me within 24 hours, it will be because I have not received your email and you should try to resend it.  I always reply to emails as soon as I can.

Cecile

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 10 2010
sion

hi Cecile – I’ve been emailing for ages (at least a year, whenever I think about it) from various addresses – even replied openly on the anz artquilt list – and figured you must either have an *insanely* aggressive spamfilter or that I’ve ended up in your black books for some reason … anyhow. I never heard anything at all about that 3-piece childhood challenge you ran, and have wondered if & when I might get my entry back.

14 10 2010
uniquestitching

I am sorry that I have not responded. Of course you would not be in my black book! Let me find out what has happened with your entry and get back to you. I remember that I loved it but was sure I had returned them all.
Cecile

14 10 2010
sion

see at some point I found a stamped envelope under the seat in my car which MIGHT have been the one that was supposed to go in the bag with my entry, so if it WAS for that package you may not have known where to return it or intended to get in touch re postage or something. At least I know it got there now! lol Hope it turns up … I never even got a pic of it totally finished because I was running so close to the deadline.

Leave a Reply

