Wet, Wild and Windy day

15 10 2010

I feel like I have spent the entire day under water.  I have been dyeing and rinsing all day, which is always wet work, but the weather has been so wild that even in the shelter of our under cover area, I have been wet.  I hung some velvet in our usual place, but the wind was blowing the rain in almost horizontally and I got wet hanging it up, so that was the end of that idea.  Finally giving up on waiting for the weather to clear, I went to the post office and the bank, changed in to dry clothes, but had to get petrol, so two minutes after being dry, I was again soaked.  I hope everyone else out there is keeping dry and warm and most particularly safe.  The radio has been reporting accidents all over the place and trees down to boot.

Well, my velvets are all dyed, but they have no chance of getting dry today.  22 colourways dyed with an average of about 3 metres in each.  The photo below shows 20 of the 22 colours soaking and setting. 

20 of the 22 colourways

What a day.  Tomorrow is supposed to be a bit better.

Actions

Information

9 responses

15 10 2010
suedee

Wild weather or not, the colours look great, they will look wonderful when they are dry. I’m waiting for the weather to dry and warm up down here too (south Tassie), so I can get back into my dyeing studio.

15 10 2010
uniquestitching

Hi Sue
Thanks. I love the colours. I put two colours on each so it is always an adventure when they are washed and dried. Good luck getting into the studio. Some days it is the only thing that keeps me sane.
Cecile

15 10 2010
Monica

Cecile, it’s definitely not the day to get anything dry. The rain has been pelting against my office window all day. At times, it was as if someone was throwing buckets of water against the window.
The rain is wonderful but you do have my sympathy for trying to dry the fabric.

15 10 2010
uniquestitching

Ha, I know. I can not believe how wet I have been today. You have seen my undercover outdoor area. The rain was reaching me in the middle! We have sorted out plastic on the two drying areas, and I spun them all in the machine twice, so they are close to dry going on the lines. If the wind drops down I should have them dry tomorrow. Thanks for your very generous offer.

16 10 2010
Anne OConnor

Oh Cecile, you have my sympathy – we got over 30 mm here and a large gum tree down across from us in Kreft Street. Looks like it is clearing tomorrow

16 10 2010
uniquestitching

thanks Anne, I heard about the tree on Kreft. My eldest is in a group house down your way, but on the other side of Kreft and he had to work his way around it and the removal crew on his way home from work. Today is MUCH better.

16 10 2010
Julieanne Ryan

Cecile it was definately not the day for any creative thoughts…everything I thought of doing involved the sun or trying to dry something too so I guess it was an unproductive day all round.

16 10 2010
uniquestitching

Julie
did you get the flooding that the Riverina got? I hope everyone out your way is okay.
Cecile

17 10 2010
Julieanne Ryan

No we don’t get flooding as such but the Mighty Murray at Mildura is at minor flood level which is a good result and the old creek beds are filling up and the River Red Gums are getting a good drink. The farmers are having a good year for their crops if only they can beat the locusts.

We have just had rain rain and cold weather we have been very fortunate compared to many others. One good thing the rain and the cold weather has slowed the locusts down for the farmers for a short time. Will miss you at the Adelaide show this year but should catch you at one of the others in the future in Melbourne perhaps.

Leave a Reply

