Experimenting with Lutradur

5 12 2010

It has been a little while since I posted.  I have been making some traditional patchwork for family members, one for my nephews son and a second for a wedding quilt, which I am aiming to get to the couple before their first anniversary.  I may make it.  I have been posting photos on my facebook page if you would like to check these out.  I update Facebook often and for those of you who would like to know a bit more about what the boys and I are doing, there is more personal interaction on there than I will put on here or the website.  If you have not already, click “Like” on the page and you will get updates on your Facebook page.

Today, I have been continuing my experimentation with the Lutradur.  I am really enjoying playing with this.  I am making a small 12 by 12 inch piece and I needed/wanted a really interesting textured surface that I could thread paint and applique onto.  I had an idea and was very happy to have this work.  Here is what you do.

I lay the Lutradur down on the bench, covered it with Vliesofix/Bond-a-web and sprinkled a small amount of a number of different Hot Fix Angelina fibres across the surface.

I then cut/ripped strips of hand dyed silk organza and lay it on top of the Angelina.

I then covered it with an applique mat and ironed together.  Next I flipped it over on the sink, opened the window and got a breeze blowing (that bit is important – you need ventilation) and took to it with the heat gun.  I heated the Lutradur side, which then bubbled, puckered and shrunk.  WAY COOL.

This is what the finished texture looks like after I trimmed it back to close to the finished size.

Isn't it fabulous?

What do you think?  Where to now – I see Parakeets:

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 12 2010
Judy

Always interested to see your ideas!

5 12 2010
uniquestitching

thanks Judy
Cecile

6 12 2010
suedee

stitch before or after the heat gun ?

6 12 2010
uniquestitching

I just wrote a whole story and lost it! I will try again. This is a good question because you could do both. In the piece shown, I have not stitched it at all yet. The vliesofix holds it together and the shrinkage due to the heat helps to bond it more firmly. However, you could stitch and the stitching would act as a bit of a resist. The thicker or heavier the stitching, the greater the resist. This could result in some very interesting results. Light stitching would still shrink, but maybe not as much. I might have a play on the weekend with this technique and post some photos. If anyone else wants to try, I would love to see photos.
Cecile

8 01 2011
Joy

this is a new medium for me maybe I have had my head buried in the sand for way too long must check this out more very exciting I think

Leave a Reply

