Painted fabric, more lutradur

3 01 2011

I had another fun day playing with more Angelina and Lutradur elements.  I put together the pieces from yesterday.  Here is some detail:

Today I have made some more ‘bits’ as samples but have also been experimenting with painting fabric.

Discharged and hand painted fabric.

I have left this large, so sorry if it takes a while to download, but I wanted you to be able to see the detail.  Love it.  I will be repeating this one in meterage I think.  If you and your friends would like to learn how to do this and other amazing things with paint, you only have to ask.

I am so happy the post office is open tomorrow.  I have a heap of mail to get out – two big boxes!

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 01 2011
pat dwyer

Hey Cecile just wondered if you think the discharging does any damage to the fabric for the future strength of it..I am assuming you used bleach and what did you paint it with?

3 01 2011
uniquestitching

Hi Pat,
I don’t use bleach, though I have done in the past and probably will continue to on very large pieces. I use discharge products that are designed to be more gentle on your fabric such as Jacquard Discharge Paste and the DeColourant products. There has been a fair bit of research into the potential long term effect of bleaching on fabric, particularly by trying to age the fabric and the jury is out on the real long term impact. My advice in classes and workshops is that if you are concerned, don’t discharge. If the piece you are working on is something you hope will be an heirloom and you want it to be nice in 100+ years, don’t discharge, but I don’t expect any of my pieces to be art quilts to be heirlooms so I don’t actually care. I would not discharge the fabric on any of the quilts I give to family, but then again, these are traditional utilitarian quilts so the style does not suit the technique, again, for me, a non issue.

The reality is that many of the art quilt products we use have not been around long enough to see how they will withstand time. For example, will Angelina or Tyvek become brittle and disintegrate in 50 years? Who knows. So, I encourage caution but also encourage experimentation. I hope that answers your question
Cecile

Leave a Reply

