AQC is around the corner. I love AQC

30 03 2011

This year is the seventh (I think) Australasian Quilt Convention.  I love this show.  I love the excitment of the events, the fabulous national and international tutors I get to meet and the pure joy of the participants who come to the only Quilting only craft show in Australia.  And the amazing quilts – wow the quilts!

Since inception, I have tried to throw myself into every aspect of it.  I think I am the only exhibitor who can say I have attended every AQC social event.  The welcome cocktail party is always a blast and the formal dinner is ‘THE’ quilting event of the year in my mind.  This year will be no different.  I have my tickets and am choosing a new ‘frock’ for the big dinner.  I love the awards, particularly the Shining Light award for an extraordinary quilter under 18 years and the Lut-Da award which is for a quilter who makes a major contribution to their community.

Each year, the delegates – those who have registered for one or more days of the classes – get a gift bag with goodies donated by the exhibitors who are trading.  Again, each year I contribute to this and try to make it a bit sensational.  This is in fact, my biggest marketing spend each year, and I love trying to come up with something bigger and better than last year.  I have never seen what others contribute and nor do I care, but I am always happy with what I provide.  This year I have put in hand dyed fat quarters of cotton sateen.  These are a new product for me and over the next few weeks/months, I will be dyeing up a full range of this fabulous fabric.  It is 100% cotton, but lustruous and soft like a silk satin.  Gorgeous.  Here are some photos of it in process.

70 metres dyed in 12 colourways - glorious

70 metres cut into 280 fat quarters, oh my aching back!

packed and ready to go. Phew!

If you want more information on AQC, go to www.aqc.com.au.  If you want to get one of my gorgeous fabrics, you need to register as a delegate.  There are still some great classes available and you can go for a day or four days.  Check out Jane Davila’s surface design classes on the weekend (two are sold out but there are a couple of places left in the other two).  She is a funny lady and you will have fun if you join her.

Actions

Information

3 responses

30 03 2011
Lindi Jarman

oooh, just gorgeous, Cecile! Wish I was going….. Any chance you will eventually list them in your shop?
I’ve been busy drooling and planning what to do with my purchases at Kiama. 🙂 Lots of ideas…..

31 03 2011
sphen

Hi Lindi yes I will have it on line after AQC. I have several hundred metres on order, but it is taking a while to get here. Perhaps we can have show and tell when you have used your purchases?

Cecile https://uniquestitching.wordpress.com http://www.uniquestitching.com.au Visit Unique Stitching on Facebook 0424 932 903

31 03 2011
uniquestitching

How odd, that came from my son. What has he set up I wonder.

Leave a Reply

