Machine piecing is my artistic comfort food

11 11 2011

I have spent most of today cutting and machine piecing a quilt top.  It has been a very therapeutic day.  I love the precision of piecing, the predictability of how the pieces form up blocks, the blocks rows and the rows a quilt top.  The rhythm of the stitching, the thrum of the machine and steady reduction of thousands of pieces into one whole top fills me with a sense of balance and completion.  I piece when I need to get back to basics, to reinvigorate my soul or to remind myself of who I am creatively.  When life is not going to plan, I piece.  When I need time to reflect, I piece.  I love that piecing a quilt allows the simplification of complex designs and ideas.  I love  that you see the transformation of many different fabrics into an integrated whole.  I love that you can express yourself through colour, texture and design and that a two dimensional object can have movement and activity, light and joy.  I love piecing.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

