Mixed Media Canvas

11 01 2014

I am building a range of mixed media canvases, pages and more for the Scrapbooking and Papercraft Shows.  I am not a papercrafter and I don’t really get the ‘scrapbooking’ thing, but I do like working on canvases.  Here is one I have just completed.

??????????

I have used a very eclectic mix of objects in here, but it is still a structured and formal layout.

There are two Tim Holtz products:  A pre printed Hessian canvas from the District Market range (Clockmaker) and my all time favourite Clock faces – Timepieces from the Ideology ranges.  The photo is one I have licenced from www.depositphotos.com.

??????????

the quote is transfered using Transfer Artist Paper on to Kraft Tex.  I really liked the effect of this and to finish it of a bit, I have stitched around the edge with my maching.

??????????

The knives and the upholstery fabric behind them came from one of the local charity op shops.  I liked the texture on the knife handles.  I applied two coats of gesso and then painted two coats of Jacquard Textile Colour in Raw Sienna.  Once it was dry, I heated some embossing powder over the surface to ‘tarnish’ it a bit.  I don’t know the brand or colour of the embossing powder as it is very, very old and I can’t read the jar.  The knives are no longer relevant as cutlery, they are there for their horizontal lineal look.

What do you think?

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 01 2014
suedee

Cecile, I’m not a scrapbooker either, but I do like the collage you have put together here. 🙂

11 01 2014
B

Excellent

Leave a Reply

