A trip to the lolly shop

27 11 2015

I remember a time when I was younger and as a very special treat my sister and I would be allowed 20cents to go down to the local shop and buy a bag of mixed lollies.  It was always an adventure to see what you got and to swap those that you did not like.  I never wanted the hard, boiled lollies but I could usually trade these with my sister for a snake or something else.  I think she worked out that you could suck the boiled ones for hours and extend the pleasure of the lolly bag.

Now I am much older and am still not a fan of boiled lollies, but I think I have found a way to have the joy and colourful effect of these without the sugar.  That is in making the latest block of the month by Jaybird quilts – Sweet Tooth.  Each block reminds me of bright, colourful lollies.

The BOM does not come out until the new year, but the beauty of going to Quilt Market in Houston is that you get to see the quilts and take home a shop guide.  This year Julie also gave me a little bundle of fabric to make the first two blocks.

Sweet tooth 3

Here is Julie from Jaybird Quilts standing in front of Sweet Tooth. (you can click on it to see a bigger picture)

Sweet tooth 2

Last night I made my blocks up.  The two blocks took less than an hour from start to finish.  The quilt uses the Hex N More and Super Sidekick rulers or you can make your own templates.  The rulers make everything easier.  I am offering the BOM with a choice of light, medium or dark backgrounds and am making my sample up in the light background, so you can see the five colours on the silver background below.  Obviously Julie’s sample pictured above is in the dark option.

Sweet tooth 1

Here is what the finished blocks look like.  I am looking forward to making the rest.

Sweet tooth 4

If you want to be part of any of our BOMs you can check out the details here:  http://www.uniquestitching.com.au/c/195258/1/clubs-subs-and-boms.html

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 11 2015
kati tremul

please take me off your mailing list

CHEERS DEARS

K.T.

Date: Fri, 27 Nov 2015 00:02:56 +0000 To: kati_tremul@hotmail.com

5 12 2015
uniquestitching

I don’t actually add anyone to this page. Each person chooses to opt in. As such I am not sure where to find those subscribed, but you can unsubscribe by clicking the unsubscribe link at the bottom of the email you receive.

Leave a Reply

