triangles, my favourite of all the shapes

15 01 2016

I do love triangles.  I particularly love them when they come together to form different shapes and patterns.  I could seriously put triangles into everything.  Here is one of my favourite old quilts built on triangles and appliqué.
cmykflameflower

 

These next three are also amongst my favourites of my more traditional quilts.

Aurora cmyk

windows cmyk

Oriental cmyk

It is all in the placement and the use of colour.  There are dozens of different rulers that allow you to cut and sew triangles, but I am a bit old school and like to use actual maths.  I have a handout that you can download to help with the calculations and sewing instructions which you are welcome to use if it will help.

Using Triangles

Patterns for these quilts plus more are available at http://www.uniquestitching.com.au

Actions

Information

One response

18 01 2016
Susan Hunt

Thank you Cecile ­ this was timely as I was fussing with a small problem related to half square triangles ­ this post answered my queries.

Happy New Year to you. Sue

From: Ceciles Unique Stitching Blog Reply-To: Cecile’s Unique Stitching Blog Date: Friday, 15 January 2016 14:30 To: Susan Hunt Subject: [New post] triangles, my favourite of all the shapes

WordPress.com uniquestitching posted: “I do love triangles. I particularly love them when they come together to form different shapes and patterns. I could seriously put triangles into everything. Here is one of my favourite old quilts built on triangles and appliqué. These n”

Leave a Reply

